The New Shul

Events

 

Sat., Sept. 16

Pre-S’lihot film screening and discussion: “Is That You?” by Dani Menkin (2014). 8 pm. Followed by S’lihot service at 10 pm.

Wed. Sept. 20

Erev Rosh Hashanah, Service 6 pm

Thurs. Sept. 21

First Day Rosh Hashanah, Service 8:15 am to 1 pm

Erev Second Day, Service 7:30 pm

Fri. Sept. 22

Second Day Rosh Hashanah, Service 8:15 to 1 pm

Fri. Sept. 29

Erev Yom Kippur, Kol Nidrei 5:45 pm

Sat. Sept. 30

Yom Kippur, Services 8:15 am to 2:30 pm, 4:00 to 7:00 pm

Thurs. Oct. 5

First Day Sukkot, Service 9 am

Fri. Oct. 6

Second Day Sukkot, Service 9 am

Thurs. Oct. 12

Sh’mini Atzeret, Service 9 am (including Yizkor)

Erev Simhat Torah, Hakafot and dancing 7 pm

Fri. Oct. 13

Simhat Torah, Service 9 am

Sun. Oct. 29

Guest lecture: Rabbi Eugene Korn, “Jewish Schizophrenia: What did the Rabbis Think of Christianity?” 7 pm, sponsored by Valley Beit Midrash

Mon. Nov. 13

Guest lecture: Rabbi Aaron Leibowitz, “Can I Trust You?: Kashrut, Social Dynamics and Jewish Unity.” 7 pm, sponsored by Valley Beit Midrash

Thurs. Nov. 30

Guest lecture: Dr. Shaul Maggid, “Why Should Progressive Jews Care About Hasidism?” 7 pm, sponsored by Valley Beit Midrash

Sat. Dec. 16

Hanukah Coffee House, 7:30 pm

Mon. Jan. 1, 2018

New Years Day, Serve meals to the hungry at St. Vincent de Paul

Mon. Jan. 15

Martin Luther King Day, Serve meals to the hungry at St. Vincent de Paul

Thurs. Feb. 1

Guest lecture: Rabbi Melissa Weintraub, “Building Heavenly Disagreement on Israel in American Jewish Life.” 7 pm, sponsored by Valley Beit Midrash

Sun. Feb. 4

New Shul Annual Meeting 10 am

Blood drive, 12 – 4 pm

Sun. Feb. 11

Limmud AZ

Mon. Feb. 19

Presidents’ Day, Serve meals to the hungry at St. Vincent de Paul

Thurs. Feb. 22

Guest lecture: Dr. Rachel Tzvia Back: “The Woman’s Voice in Modern Hebrew Poetry.” 7 pm, sponsored by Valley Beit Midrash

Thurs. Feb. 26

Guest lecture: Rabbi Sharon Cohen Anisfeld: “Mi Yodea: Humility and Hope in an Uncertain World,” 7 pm, sponsored by Valley Beit Midrash

Wed. Feb. 28

Erev Purim, Megillah Reading and Shpiel 7:30 pm

Thurs. Mar. 1

Purim

Fri. Mar. 30

Erev Pesah, First Seder

Sat. Mar. 31

First Day Pesah, Service 9 am

Erev Second Day, Second Seder

Sun. Apr. 1

Second Day Pesah, Service 9 am

Fri. Apr. 6

Seventh Day Pesah, Service 9 am

Sat. Apr. 7

Eighth Day Pesah, Service 9 am (including Yizkor)

Thurs. Apr. 12

Guest lecture: Dr. Sheila Katz,  “Connecting with the Enemy: a Century of Palestinian-Israeli Joint Nonviolence,” 7 pm, sponsored by Valley Beit Midrash

Sat. May 19

Erev Shavuot, Tikkun Leil Shavuot 9:30 pm to 5 am

Sun. May 20

First Day Shavuot, Service 5 am

Mon. May 21

Second Day Shavuot, Service 9 am (including Yizkor)

Sun.-Mon. May 27-28

New Shul retreat

Sat. Oct. 6 2018

Bar Mitzvah, Sammy Brodsky

Sat. Oct. 27 2018

Bar Mitzvah, Isaac Don

Sat. Feb. 29, 2020

Bat mitzvah – Lauren and Eden Brodsky